Fabric Canvas 2

Fabric Canvas 2

by Kvadrat

Canvas 2
90% new wool, 10% nylon
140 cm wide
45 colourways

Canvas is a vibrant woollen upholstery textile created by Giulio Ridolfo. Particularly well-suited to large surfaces thanks to its pronounced structure, it features a soft weave and an expanded palette inspired by the landscapes of Skagen, Denmark.

The melange yarn used to craft Canvas combines three colours, with six hues in every colourway. Consequently, the textile offers exceptional colour richness and an intriguing expression. From a distance, it has the calm surface of a unicoloured textile. But, get closer, and shimmering colour nuances, delicate contrasts and an elegant structure emerge.

Giulio Ridolfo: ‘Canvas highlights how beautiful a yarn can be and projects a strong sense of craftsmanship.’

The palette consists of interpretations of colours found by Giulio Ridolfo at different times of the day when he was travelling in Skagen. Since the Danish Golden Age, this area has been a magnet for painters, as the landscape combines soft, pastel panoramas and dramatic, dark coastlines.

Reflecting this, Canvas’ colour scheme comprises a variety of dark, light, cool and warm tones. Every colourway combines different nuances to form a complex colour landscape, as in watercolour paintings.

Versatile Canvas is suitable for both contract and private use: it is very durable and, as a result, offers a long-life span. Additionally, it is certified according to the EU Ecolabel, and has a high content of renewable fibres.

Giulio Ridolfo
Giulio Ridolfo bases his work around the expression of an attitude or a choice. This results in the development of highly personal and distinctive colour palettes.

Since graduating as a Master of Fashion Design, from the Domus Academy in Milan in 1985, Giulio Ridolfo collaborated with many of the world’s leading fashion and design brands, including: Tods and Hogan, Gianfranco Ferré, Moroso, Vitra, Fritz Hansen and Salone del Mobile.

/srv/www/chroot/site11/web/live/web

Stoff Canvas 2

Stoff Canvas 2

von Kvadrat

Canvas 2
90% Schurwolle, 10% Nylon
140 cm breit
45 Farben

Canvas ist ein lebendiger Wollbezugstextil von Giulio Ridolfo. Dank seiner ausgeprägten Struktur besonders für grosse Flächen geeignet, verfügt er über ein weiches Gewebe und einer erweiterten Farbpalette, die von den Landschaften im dänischen Skagen inspiriert ist.

Das zum Herstellen von Canvas verwendete Melange-Garn kombiniert drei Farben mit sechs Farbtönen in jeder Farbe. Folglich bietet das Textil eine aussergewöhnliche Farbvielfalt und einen faszinierenden Ausdruck. Aus der Ferne hat es die ruhige Oberfläche eines einfarbigen Textils. Aber näher betrachtet schimmern Farbnuancen mit zarten Kontrasten in einer eleganten Struktur.

Giulio Ridolfo: „Canvas unterstreicht, wie schön ein Garn sein kann, und vermittelt ein ausgeprägtes handwerkliches Können.“

Die Palette besteht aus Interpretationen der Farben, die Giulio Ridolfo zu verschiedenen Tageszeiten gefunden hatte, als er in Skagen unterwegs war. Seit dem dänischen Goldenen Zeitalter ist dieses Gebiet ein Anziehungspunkt für Maler, da die Landschaft weiche Pastellpanoramen und dramatische, dunkle Küstenlinien kombiniert.

Das Farbschema von Canvas umfasst verschiedene dunkle, helle, kühle und warme Töne. Jede Farbkombination kombiniert unterschiedliche Nuancen zu einer komplexen Farblandschaft wie bei Aquarellmalereien.

Vielseitig ist Canvas sowohl für den Objektbereich als auch für den privaten Gebrauch geeignet: Er ist sehr langlebig und bietet dadurch eine lange Lebensdauer. Darüber hinaus ist es nach dem EU-Umweltzeichen zertifiziert und hat einen hohen Anteil an erneuerbaren Fasern.

Giulio Ridolfo
Giulio Ridolfo basiert seine Arbeiten auf dem Ausdruck einer Haltung oder einer Wahl. Daraus ergeben sich sehr persönliche und unverwechselbare Farbpaletten.

Nach seinem Abschluss als Master of Fashion Design an der Domus Academy in Mailand im Jahr 1985 arbeitete Giulio Ridolfo mit vielen der weltweit führenden Mode- und Designmarken zusammen, darunter Tods und Hogan, Gianfranco Ferré, Moroso, Vitra, Fritz Hansen und Salone del Mobile.